HACCP-PASA, food safety and safety

HACCP is a systematic, preventative approach to food safety and safety. It concerns producers, processors, distributors of food products as well as suppliers of packaging materials, cleaning products.

The Food Safety Enhancement Program (FSEP) is the Canadian Food Inspection Agency’s (CFIA) approach to promoting and supporting the development, implementation and maintenance of the HACCP system. PASA is employed in companies under federal jurisdiction.

Prerequisite programs

The 7 prerequisite program (PRP) aspects of a HACCP system will need to be reviewed or implemented at the beginning of implementation.

The seven fundamental principles of HACCP

The HACCP standard is based on seven principles to identify hazards associated with food production, control them at Critical Control Points (CCPs) in the process, and verify that the system is working well.

Process validation and reevaluation procedures should be performed to ensure the expected results of the implemented or modified methods.

The results of the HACCP certification are:

  • Demonstrate the safety and suitability of food;
  • Uniform quality;
  • Better cost control;
  • Improved management processes;
  • Increased productivity;
  • nternational Recognition;
  • Improved export and growth opportunities.